Why does Paraguay like the new Google Translate?

Google has announced that it will add 24 new languages ​​to the “Google Translate” service. Among them are Guarani, spoken by several ethnic groups in South America.

It is estimated that Guarani is spoken by approximately seven million people, including people from some regions of Bolivia, Argentina and Brazil. However, it is in Paraguay that the language is spoken the most, with about 70% of the country’s population declaring themselves bilingual – Spanish and Guarani.

According to Célia Godoy, Director of Language Planning of the Secretariat of the Speech Act of Paraguay, Guarani is a language that reflects Paraguayan culture. “Keeping Guarani alive is a good and ongoing process,” Godoy said BBC Brazil.

In Brazil, different people speak the Guarani language. According to IBGE, Kaiowá Guarani, for example, is spoken by more than 26,000 indigenous people in the state of Mato Grosso do Sul. Even the city center of Tacuru / MS has made Guarani the second language of the city.

It is worth noting that, although there are hundreds of indigenous languages ​​and dialects in South America, Guarani is recognized as one of the three languages ​​of Mercosur, in addition to, of course, Portuguese and Spanish. . However, according to the Ouro Preto Protocol, only Portuguese and Spanish are used in the form and structure of the body of the block of countries.

More Words for Google Translate

According to Google, there are more than 300 million speakers of 24 new languages ​​in addition to translation services. Among the names are Lingala, spoken by more than 45 million people in South Africa; Quechua, for 10 million in Peru, Bolivia and Ecuador; and mizo, by approximately 800,000 people in northern India.

The names also include Assamese, Aymara, Bambara, Bhojpuri, Dhivehi, Dogri, Ewe, Ilocano, Konkani, Krio, Kurdish (Sorani), Luganda, Maithili, Meiteilon (Manipuri), Oromo, Sanskrit, Sepedi, Tigrinya, Tsonga, Twi , In addition to the Guaraní language.

The addition of the new terms was announced during Google Keynote, the company’s annual developer conference. With this new language, Google Translate now supports 133 languages ​​spoken worldwide.

Leave a Comment